Skip to main content

How to change the default gamemode in Minecraft

Level: Beginner

In this guide we will step-by-step show you how to change the default game mode in Minecraft. The different game modes you can choose from are Survival, Creative, Adventure, and Spectator.

How to set the default gamemode of your Minecraft server

Step 1: Login to the Dashboard

  • See our login instructions guide over here!
  • Go to your Inventory.


Step 2: Click "Manage" on the server you want to change

  • This will take you to the advanced view of your server.
  • If you plan on switching version on multiple servers make sure to do one at a time.


Step 3: Set the gamemode of your Minecraft server

  • Scroll down to the Players section and set the gamemode to Survival, Creative, Adventure, or Spectator.



Step 4: Save your changes

  • Click on the Save button and click it to save your changes.

NOTE: the save button is located on the top right cornor


Step 5: Restart your Minecraft server

  • Scroll back up to the top of your Server Overview and click the server restart button to apply the changes you've made to your Minecraft server.


If you are having trouble with this, you can open a support ticket here!
Feedback and suggestions regarding this article are welcome in our Discord server